Tasty Tuesday: Christmas Cookies

Xmas Cookies

This Christmas season I have been all about baking and candy-making. I have made PB dog treats, white chocolate-covered pretzels, peanut butter balls, and most recently, iced sugar cookies. My friend Quest and I had a Christmas Girls’ Night. We baked cookies, watched Love Actually (best Christmas chick flick ever), decorated cookies, and drank fizzy red wine.

When I was a kid, my mom made the best sugar cookies, but only on very special occasions. When I was in first or second grade, she made them heart-shaped with pink icing, for my class at Valentine’s Day. Unfortunately, we both came down with the flu the same day I took the cookies to school. We lay miserably on couches on opposite sides of the living room. That’s the only time I can remember my mom and I being sick at the same time, and how my dad got through that week I will never know.

I forgot to get the old recipe from my mom for the Christmas Girls’ Night with Quest, but I found a pretty close stand-in recipe at The Pioneer Woman. The lemon peel is the key ingredient. I love all her recipes, and her step-by-step photos make everything so easy. Instead of her egg yolk glaze, we just made royal icing using the recipe on the sugar bag.

Leave a Reply

