Musical Monday: Bon Iver

jag115full

I’m finally caught up! Today is Monday, and I am actually doing my Monday music post! Whew.

I think I have pretty great musical taste. But I also live in the South, in a relatively small city (pop. 225,000). We are not exactly cutting edge in the trend department down here. I’ve been listening to a lot of the same (great) stuff for years. And after every issue of my Rolling Stone subscription, I think, “Man, I’ve never even heard of so many of these bands, but they sound like they would be awesome.” Luckily, I have friends with more diverse tastes who have been introducing me to new things. And also luckily, there are plenty of places to preview music online before you commit to buying it. So I’m trying to branch out.

My latest favorite: Bon Iver (pronounced “bohn eevair”), indie folk singer-songwriter Justin Vernon’s current band. I have to credit my friend Grantmasterflash with this discovery. I listen to NPR, but apparently not enough to have found him on my own. Grantmasterflash made me some very awesome CDs of new music, and I continue to appreciate them on a daily basis.

Even though the independently released debut album, For Emma, Forever Ago, was recorded in a remote cabin in freezing-your-ass-off Wisconsin, it sounds warm, real, earthy — like listening to vinyl records in a dark room with dusty hardwood floors, by a roaring fireplace with shadows dancing on the walls. I read a review on Slate that described his singing as “mournful gurgling,” and I literally wanted to email the author and tell her that snarky has its place and it is not in a review about my new favorite band. Okay, so I can’t understand every single thing he’s saying. Name one band about which this is not true. That. Is. What. Google. Is. For.

Listen to the song “Skinny Love” here.

5 Comments

  1. grantmasterflash said,

    January 2, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    i have achieved blog stardom!

    • meggitymegs said,

      January 5, 2009 at 12:54 pm

      I’m not sure if this blog mentioning you qualifies you as a star, but whatever makes you happy! 🙂

  2. Cheryl from PA said,

    January 4, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    I have been enjoying your blog. Baby Paul and I danced to the music you put on it. We love new music to dance to,

    • meggitymegs said,

      January 5, 2009 at 12:51 pm

      Hi Cheryl! I have to say I would be shocked if you and Shawn produced a baby that did not love music and dancing! The Swampman can’t decide if Paul looks like either of you yet. What do you think?

  3. Cheryl from PA said,

    January 11, 2009 at 4:02 am

    Your blog keeps me entertained when I am up at 4 am, which happens more than I like since I have become a mom. I can’t decide yet either who he looks like. I will send some pictures soon and you can see if you can figure it out. You’ll never guess who is Paul’s favorite musician. MIchale Franti! He loves to dance to his music!


Leave a Reply

