Film Fest Friday: Once

onceposter

I don’t know why it took me so long to watch the movie Once. It got great reviews, won an Oscar (Best Original Song 2007), and involves musicians, Ireland, and a love story. What the hell was I thinking? Perhaps I was thinking, “argh, a musical?” Actually, I don’t hate all musicals. I enjoy them occasionally and tolerate them when necessary. Secondly, when I saw these people perform the song for which they won an Academy Award, I was fairly unimpressed.

But this is one of those movies that no review or description can do justice. And those are my favorite kind of movies. I could sit here and tell you all about how the music is amazingly powerful, how the personal dynamics portrayed are authentic and touching, how it takes the concept of a musical to an entirely different level and just when you realize how much you’re starting to like it, it ratchets up another notch. But none of this will mean anything to you until you experience it for yourself.

I have a real affinity for underdogs, and this was a low-budget, independent film that didn’t make much money but won a ton of awards. Even better: the two main characters actually were falling in love during filming and are still together. And they wrote all the music that they performed in the movie. Must download soundtrack.

1 Comment

  1. Sarah said,

    January 7, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    I love this film, we saw it when it came out with a friend who used to live in Dublin and he (and we) enjoyed spotting familiar sites and we thought the music was great too. I was a massive Commitments fan a million years ago so it was good to see and hear Outspan again!

    We run a local cinema club in South Manchester (http://tinyurl.com/6vv8fl) and I picked Once to be shown and it went down a storm and even got a round of applause at the end. It’s not often you come across a really good quality, low budget, ‘nice’ film.

    I didn’t know the two stars were an item, that’s really sweet!


Leave a Reply

