Film Fest Friday: Definitely, Maybe

If you know anything about me, you know I love a good romantic comedy. Unfortunately, they just don’t make ’em like they used to. More often than not, for the last 5 or 6 years, I’ve just been disappointed by the drivel that Hollywood tries to pass off as a good chick flick. On that note, what the heck has happened to Meg Ryan? She used to be so cute and funny. Now she looks like her lips decided to stage a hostile takeover of her face, and she just always seems sort of…sad.

cute

sad

Successive bad romantic comedies have made me understand why some people hate them so much. But imagine my delight at seeing the first one in years that I would actually recommend!

definitely_maybe1

The first thing you need is a clever script — check. It also switches things up a bit by telling the story from the guy’s perspective. Why did no one think of this before? He’s also a single dad, which is something we tend to see more often in dramas than in comedies. As I get older, I have a greater appreciation for movies that portray relationship issues at least somewhat realistically, and I’d say the premise for this movie (and the struggles of the characters) was just realistic enough to still be funny and not depressing. And the last ingredient in any good chick flick: happy ending. It helps if the happy ending is plausible. Maybe I’m just in an idealistic phase right now, but with Definitely, Maybe, I totally bought it. This is one I’ll watch again when I find myself annoyed by Meg Ryan’s clown lips.

Oh, P.S. Ryan Reynolds is hot. Congrats Scarlett!

Leave a Reply

