Musical Monday: Phish IT

Last week’s big music news (at least in my world) was the announcement that Phish has set summer tour dates after a 4+ year hiatus, and one of the stops includes the Asheville Civic Center. As someone pointed out to me, Asheville is the only indoor venue and the only stop in the South on this whole tour, so it will probably be the most difficult to get tickets for. I don’t give up that easily. My ticket request is in through the Phish lottery, and if that doesn’t work, I’ll try the dreaded Ticket*ast%r$. Hopefully out of everyone I know, someone will be able to get tickets to at least one show. But it won’t be easy.

So in honor of the Vermont boys’ reunion, I’m sharing the DVD documentary of the last show I saw. It was a euphoric, muddy, non-stop extravaganza of people, music, and fun that is in my top 10 list of favorite memories. 2003 was an excellent year of music and traveling for me.

road

it

war1

phish1

meg1

I was going to write my own summary of this festival DVD, but the one I found on Amazon says it all: “Shot in breath-taking High Definition, the DVD follows the band, hailed by Rolling Stone as ‘America’s Greatest Jam Band,’ along with 70,000 loyal Phish fans from all over the world to IT – a two-day festival in remote Limestone, Maine, that marked the end of their summer 2003 tour. This 2-DVD set includes over 4 hours of music and offers an exhilarating look into what has made this band a cultural phenomenon for the past 21 years.”

See you in Asheville on June 9! (I hope!)

phishitdvd   Buy it here.

3 Comments

  1. writenowe said,

    January 14, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Great blog. If you feel inclined, put my information up. I’m living in Hampton, VA about 8 miles from the venue.
    http://phishampton09.wordpress.com/
    I’m working on a blog to help others with parking, travel, rides, and hotels for March.

    john r. wharton
    757-897-4686

    writenowe@gmail.com

  2. Katie Joyner said,

    January 28, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Hey Meggars! I still can’t believe I was there and you were too. My husband and I have forgone the attempt to get phish tickets this year. 😦 We tried for Hampton and did not succeed, not to mention that I don’t know anyone that did succeed. So, we decided to give up entirely. If and when you go to Asheville, I’d love to hear all about it. I hope that they don’t disappoint and may they be as inspiring as they were in their early days!
    love, peace and happiness
    kt

    • meggitymegs said,

      January 28, 2009 at 6:03 am

      Hi KT! Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get tickets for Asheville, but my boyperson got them for the Burgettstown and Deer Creek shows instead, so we’re going to do that and have a road trip and see some friends that live up that way. I will definitely give you the run down after the Shakedown! 🙂


Leave a Reply

