Thoughtful Thursday: In Watermelon Sugar

book

I stole a first edition copy of this book from my parents’ library. It’s a post-apocalyptic, counterculture novella by Richard Brautigan, written in 1968. I think my mom wrote a paper on it in college. It’s strange. I love it. I don’t want to tell you too much about it, because I think it’s way more fun if you go into it not knowing what to expect. I would, however, suggest reading a little background info on the author before you read his book(s).

The book begins, “In watermelon sugar the deeds were done and done again as my life is done in watermelon sugar. I’ll tell you about it because I am here and you are distant. Wherever you are, we must do the best we can. It is so far to travel, and we have nothing here to travel, except watermelon sugar. I hope this works out.”

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    February 12, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Sounds intriguing! I’d give it a shot (of course–I’ll read almost anything!)!


Leave a Reply

