Crafty Update: Goodwill Rocks

goodwill

This weekend, I finally made it back to my favorite Goodwill, after meaning to get over there for weeks. Goodwills near colleges are always so awesome. Especially private colleges with rich students who get new wardrobes constantly and dump the old (perfectly good) ones at the thrift store. Since I don’t know how to make clothes by following patterns, one of my favorite activities is buying a shirt or something at Goodwill for $3.75 and modifying it. It serves my purposes just fine. I don’t really need to start from scratch. I just need some tailoring skills, and I have those. Plus, you end up with a piece that is even more unique and one-of-a-kind.

So far I’ve made a corduroy skirt with ruffles and patches, made from various corduroy pants that I also found at said Goodwill. It even has a secret pocket on the inside that was originally the back pocket on some men’s corduroys.

g-003

g-006

And a shirt, which I plan to take on my vacation this weekend. I love having new clothes for vacations. This is linen with trim made from some of the fabric my grandmother gave me at Christmas, which just happened to be sort of patch-worky. This one was a little difficult because the shirt is bias-cut, and the pieces I added are not. So it feels a little like it’s pulling in all different directions when you’re wearing it. But it looks cool, right? Oh, the lengths we girls go to for fashion. (Huh huh, I said fashion. Huh huh.)

g-002

Please excuse the ineptitude (I love that word) of my photographing skills!

3 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    February 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

    You need to post pics of your creations!

  2. Jenny said,

    February 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Love them!!

  3. Jessica said,

    March 1, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Those are fun! I lack sewing skills unfortunately.


Leave a Reply

