Tasty Tuesday: Cream Cheese Sandwich Cookies

I am not typically a big Valentine’s Day person. I tend to fall into the camp that’s always saying, “Oh, it’s just a Hallmark holiday for the purpose of selling crap. You should treat people lovingly every day, not just once a year!” That’s all true. But this year, I decided that instead of being bitter about not having a real valentine (I do have a complicated one), I would take the high road to positivity and just make sweets for all the friends in my life that I love and appreciate. I mean, why not use Valentine’s Day as an excuse to tell your friends how much you love them? Friends need love too, not just lovers.

I found this recipe on Bakerella. Her pictures are always lovely, but I’m using some poor ones I took in my kitchen. This is why you should always take TWO photos. The first one is always crap.

cookies1

Cream Cheese Sandwich Cookies

1 Box red velvet cake mix*
1/2 Cup butter, softened to room temperature (mine was pretty much melted)
2 Eggs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix ingredients until combined. Drop spoonfuls of cookie batter onto baking sheet about two inches apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Cool.

Cream Cheese Filling

1/2 Cup butter, softened to room temperature (again, mine was pretty much melted — my microwave is superior alien technology that I cannot control)
1 8 oz. Package cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 1lb. Box of confectioner’s sugar
1 tsp Vanilla

In a mixer, cream butter, cream cheese and vanilla. Gradually add sugar and mix until smooth. Makes about 24 cookies or 12 cookie sandwiches

* Any cake mix should work.

I also made some using a lemon cake mix, and these came out much with a much softer consistency, for some reason. I do not pretend to understand the chemical processes that make cooking happen. I wrote a paper about a science-related movie for my AP Biology final exam. Yes, I am an english nerd. I don’t do science. Anyway, the lemon ones were almost too sweet. I much preferred the red velvet.

cookies2

cookies31

2 Comments

  1. Brooke said,

    February 17, 2009 at 5:54 am

    i’m gonna need to eat those.

  2. Jen said,

    February 17, 2009 at 6:04 am

    Seriously, these were amazing. I’m hoping I get to try the lemon ones sometime. Ahem.


Leave a Reply

