Tasty Tuesday: Oysters

I’ve discussed here previously how I’m on a quest to find the world’s best French Onion Soup. I should probably mention this week that this neverending pursuit also applies to another one of my favorite foods: fried oysters. I know fried foods are bad for you. But I am from the South, and I can’t eat oysters any other way. I’ve tried. As with the perfect French Onion Soup, I will not conclusively choose an absolute best place for fried oysters. But I can tell you the best I’ve had thus far. At Seel’s Fish Camp on Sullivan’s Island, South Carolina.

seels_800

I forgot to take my camera on vacation with me, so I don’t have a picture of these particular oysters to share with you. But they were huge, juicy, very lightly breaded (almost like tempura), and cooked to perfection. This is a really cool restaurant, too. The day we were there, they were having a pre-Mardi Gras celebration with a crawfish boil and a live dixieland jazz band. A little kid was break-dancing in front of them, and it was adorable.

kid

*My friend Jen took this picture.

Emeril’s Tempura Fried Oysters

1 egg, beaten  
2/3 cup flour  
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 cup cold soda water
1 tsp salt
2 dozen shucked large oystersPreheat the fryer. In a mixing bowl, whisk the egg, flour, cornstarch, soda water and salt. Blend until smooth. Let the batter sit for 10 minutes, to rest. Season the oysters with salt and pepper. Dredge the oysters in the flour, tapping off any excess flour. Dip the oysters in the tempura batter, letting the excess drip off. Then place the dipped oysters in the hot oil, fry until slightly golden, about 2 minutes. Remove the oysters from the oil and drain on a paper-lined plate.
 
4 Comments

  1. Aaron said,

    February 24, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Hmmmm, I wonder where you got that idea about finding the world’s best French Onion soup…. Could it be… Me?????

  2. meggitymegs said,

    February 24, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Dude, of course! Did you not notice the ENTIRE POST I did about you and your French Onion Soup quest?

  3. Aaron said,

    February 25, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I didn’t see it… and you know how I like my giant ego stroked….

  4. meggitymegs said,

    February 25, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I didn’t mention your ego by name, but I’ll be glad to if you like it. 🙂 Here’s the link: https://meggitymegs.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/tasty-tuesday-french-onion-soup/


Leave a Reply

