Cultural Literacy Friday: Sunday in the Park with George

Last night I went to a play with my friend, Jen, who is a lover of musical theater. I am not quite as big a fan of it myself, but I do love to support local performing arts in whatever capacity that might be. We’re fortunate enough to live in a city that houses the most prestigious performing arts school in the state — University of North Carolina School of the Arts. It was my first time seeing a theatrical performance there, and as Jen assured me, it was a “professional-level production.” On our way home, she pointed out that the school already admits only the best of the best, and those kids are auditioning for parts, so what we end up seeing in the play is the best of the best of the best. We were so impressed by the performances of every actor on that stage. They stayed in character even when they were not in the spotlight. Each of them had their own unique look about them, making one think, “I bet their headshots are amazing.” And while I thought the musical compositions were so-so, these kids could SING! Their talent rather stole the show, which is perhaps as it should be. And wow — what great costumes!!!

sundayinthepark1

We had second-row seats for “Sunday in the Park with George,” a Sondheim musical inspired by George Seurat, founder of Pointillism. Everyone would recognize his most famous painting, “A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte.” I am lucky enough to have seen it in person at the Art Institute in Chicago (my favorite art museum). I had no idea it was so large until I stood in front of it. The size alone is incredible. My best friend from childhood had a print of this painting in her house when we were growing up. I’ve always liked it.

grandjatte

2 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    February 27, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I always loved imagining stories to go with all the people in that painting. 🙂

  2. February 6, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    I can totally relate to your response to the play. I am a pointillist painter and got my inspiration while watching Sunday In The Park With George on Broadway. The actors were Bernadette Peters and Mandy Patinkin! Wow! I talk about it all the time when asked to give my bio & artist statement. I wish I could have seen you student performance. You can see my works at http://www.landisworks.com and my art blog is http://www.deniselandisworks.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

