Tasty Tuesday: Caesar Chicken

I am a big fan of recipes that don’t require exact measuring. This is a great chicken recipe I got from my friends, who made it the last time we got together for dinner. I am going to give you my slacker version instead of the exact one they provided. It’s easier and it works. Just to be clear, I used the really thin chicken breasts that are all the rage at the grocery store nowadays, so if you use the normal ones I’d probably double the cooking time. These would also be great as chicken fingers if you used tenderloins, or in bite-sized pieces as an hors d’oeuvre.

chicken

Caesar Chicken

1 package boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Creamy Caesar salad dressing
Grated parmesan cheese
Caesar croutons, crushed
Butter, melted or olive oil (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Layer the chicken breasts in the bottom of a 9×13 pan. Spread the salad dressing over the tops. Sprinkle a good layer of parmesan over that. Sprinkle a good layer of crushed croutons over that. (I used a large ziplock bag and a hammer to accomplish this. More sophisticated chefs might prefer a food processor. Did I mention cooking is a good stress relief for me?) If you like, you can drizzle a little melted butter or olive oil over them. Bake for about 25 minutes.

If you want to be all fancy, you could dip the chicken breasts (or pieces) in the dressing and then dredge them through the mixture of crushed croutons and parmesan, so that the entire piece is coated and not just the tops. That was too much work for me. But that would be better if you did bite-sized pieces for a finger food.

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    March 3, 2009 at 8:19 am

    You know, I’ve made my own chicken tenders in a similar fashion, with thin pieces of chicken (cut in half, even, if they’re wide), dipped in (I think) milk, and covered in bread crumbs.


Leave a Reply

