Random Happiness

beatles1

We were lying on the floor of his basement apartment, snuggling under a wool blanket, watching snowflakes land through the half-buried window. His hand stroked the arm I had slung across his stomach. The ferrets were nipping my ankles. Candle wax dripped onto the carpet. Incense swirled around my head. We were listening to the White Album, and I was singing along softly with the music.

Who knows how long I’ve loved you
You know I love you still
Will I wait a lonely lifetime
If you want me to, I will

He turned to look at my face. Suddenly self-conscious, I said, “What?”

“Nothing.” he said. “Just listening to you sing.”

Leave a Reply

