Musical Monday: Pixies

pixies

The first concert I ever attended was U2 (Zooropa Tour) at the Charlotte Coliseum in 1989. I was in 7th grade. I went with my parents and the oldest son of my parents’ best friends. We were all huge U2 fans, and it was an awesome show. My mom was maybe the biggest fan of us all — she loved Bono and listened to U2 records almost every night while she made dinner and I wrote my spelling words over and over. The concert was even on a school night, and I got to leave school early so we could make the 90 minute drive to Charlotte. I have the coolest parents ever. Can you believe I wasn’t even embarrassed to be there with them? In 7th grade? 

The opening band that night was the Pixies. At that age, I couldn’t really appreciate what I was hearing. I was looking at Frank Black screaming on stage and thinking, “This is noise.” I mean, at the time I was listening primarily to early Beatles records, so I just wasn’t there yet. Since then I’ve realized how amazingly innovative they were/are. Mainly due to repeated exposure by an ex-boyfriend who considered them The Best Band Ever. They grew on me slowly, but now I love them. I love the fact that you can’t really compare them to any other band. They have a sound and style that is completely unique. Definitely one of the most influential and important bands of the last 20 years. And I don’t care if you disagree. Even Kurt Cobain said Nirvana would never have existed without the Pixies. This DVD of the 2004 reunion tour is freakin’ awesome. Been thinking about it a lot lately and wanting to watch it again. If you haven’t seen it, you need to.

1 Comment

  1. grantmasterflash said,

    April 22, 2009 at 4:13 am

    The Pixies were/are phenomenal, no doubt about it. I saw them during the 2004 reunion tour at The Greek Theater in Los Angeles, while visiting a friend. The Greek slopes down the side of a hill in LA’s Griffith Park, so in a way, you could say it’s slightly like Red Rocks… just much smaller, without all the red rocks and mountains. It’s basically nothing like Red Rocks.


Leave a Reply

