Tasty Tuesday: Peasant Greek Salad

greek_salad_su_1173749_l

Lately I’ve been craving Greek salad. I had quite a few ingredients on hand, but not all of them. Like lettuce for example. And at 9:30 pm when I was hungry and decided to make this, I was not so excited about heading to the grocery store. So I made a slightly different version, and it turned out pretty well. Apparently someone else invented this before me (imagine that) and called it Peasant Greek Salad.

Peasant Greek Salad

1 cucumber, seeded and diced
1 tomato, seeded and diced
1 red onion, diced
1 can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
1 cup feta cheese, crumbled
1 tsp. oregano
1 tsp. lemon pepper
Greek vinaigrette salad dressing

Combine all ingredients in large bowl. Drizzle with vinaigrette. Chill for at least one hour to let the flavors marry. I omitted olives and sun-dried tomatoes because I don’t particularly care for them, but you could add those also. My mom makes a version of this with orzo that is divine.

Leave a Reply

