Tasty Tuesday: Poulet de Chavignol

You’ll have to use your imagination with today’s recipe, because I forgot to take a picture. And since I completely made up this recipe on my own, I can’t really filch one from another website. Well, I’m sure someone somewhere came up with this before me, but I was sort of proud of myself for using ingredients I had on hand to create something fairly gourmet. I’m trying to be a more adventurous cook.

Poulet de Chavignol

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, thin cut
1/2 package bacon, fried
8 oz. sliced mushrooms
4 oz. herbed goat cheese
1 1/4 cups dry white wine
2 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
2 tbsp Worchestershire sauce
2 tbsp olive oil

Place chicken breasts in plastic bag with 1 cup dry white wine, garlic, pepper, Worchestershire sauce, 1 tbsp olive oil. Marinate in refrigerator for at least one hour. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cook bacon in frying pan and set aside. Leave the bacon drippings in the pan and add 1 tbsp olive oil and 1/4 cup white wine. Add mushrooms and sautee until browned. Set aside. Place chicken breasts in 9 x 13 pan. Top chicken breasts with bacon and mushrooms. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove pan from oven and top chicken breasts with slices or crumbles of herbed goat cheese. Return to oven until goat cheese is semi-melted. 

I don’t ever really like leftovers, but this was actually almost better the next day.

5 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    May 6, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Seriously?! This involves many of my favorite ingredients. Mmmm…..

  2. Aaron said,

    May 7, 2009 at 4:38 am

    Looks great. where did you come up with the name?

    • meggitymegs said,

      May 7, 2009 at 4:56 am

      “Poulet” is chicken (which you probably know), and Chavignol is the region of France where the best goat cheese is made.

  3. Aaron said,

    May 8, 2009 at 6:51 am

    Pretty fancy if you ask me.


Leave a Reply

