Friday Film Fest: The Reader

the-reader-winslet-kross

I have loved Kate Winslet ever since the moment her perfectly pale face appeared from underneath that ginormous hat in Titanic. She is so very underappreciated as an actor. Along the same lines as Rachel Weisz. Love her. And y’all know how much I love Ralph Fiennes already. The Reader is the best movie I’ve seen in quite some time, and I personally think it should have received Best Picture for 2008. I was hesitant to watch this at first, because the previews made it look like such a downer. And even though there was sadness and it involved stuff about the Holocaust, I didn’t find it to be depressing. I was captivated by the performances. I really liked how philosophical, moral, and ethical questions are raised but the viewer is left to think about the answers on their own.

Leave a Reply

