Yellow Index Cards: Dazed & Confused

I had a hard time coming up with a title for today’s yellow index cards. This title could have applied to many people and many situations at our high school. And again, I’m not trying to name names. There are two cards today because they involve the same person, and I feel them to be…complementary.

a

This sketch was done to capture the utter ridiculousness of a class presentation in an advanced level biology class. This is — verbatim — the title of the presentation and the opening remarks. Also, an accurate representation of the presenter’s posture…sitting on a desk. “Just chillin’…y’all need a ride?”
Have you ever played that drinking game, “I Never?” This person’s parents never caught him with a roach clip in his gym bag. Never ever. Nuh uh. No way. No how. And yet, today he is an upstanding, responsible professional adult and even a doting parent to lovely children. Guess some people’s gateways lead to different things, huh?

a 001

The same person depicted trying to corral fruit flies for our ubiquitous, semester-long experiment involving genetics. Oh, how I miss the noxious ear-wax smell of fly nap…the eternal restraint we learned by not clapping them dead, mashed on our palms like annoying little gnats. The guilty acquiescence to drugging small insects with sedatives.

Not.

I do, however, miss the smug pleasure of watching pot-heads try to accomplish things requiring a lot of concentration. It’s like watching a kid figure out how to tie their shoes. “Mom! Look! I DID IT! AWESOME! Now I can go ANYWHERE!”

Why do people always say they would hate to go back to high school? I’d go back today in a heartbeat. It was so much more entertaining than adulthood.

5 Comments

  1. May 21, 2009 at 2:20 am

    Dude, the stuff they use to wash the windows at RH smells EXACTLY like flynap. Every weekend I’m working I am forced to be transported back to HS. Ugh.

    Do you also remember that our flies became resistant to the flynap, so we’d have to practically drown them in the stuff to make them go to sleep? Hilarious.

    I gotta say, no way would I go back to HS, though. You couldn’t pay me enough in the whole world to recreate that experience.

  2. meggitymegs said,

    May 21, 2009 at 3:17 am

    I forgot that about our flies needing extra sedation. Hilarious!

  3. Aaron said,

    May 28, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Having a hard time figuring out who this one is about. You and I weren’t in AP bio together were we?!? Anyhoo, totally agree with the comment about high school. Those were carefree, VERY entertaining days.

  4. meggitymegs said,

    June 3, 2009 at 4:45 am

    I can never tell if you’re being serious or sarcastic in your comments! You should definitely know who this is! I think this person is in some more cards, so perhaps you’ll figure it out in time.

  5. Aaron said,

    June 8, 2009 at 2:50 am

    No, I really can’t figure out who it is. And I don’t EVER use sarcasm.


Leave a Reply

