Tasty Tuesday: Roasted Vegetables

roasted%20vegetables

Little known fact: I love roasted vegetables. Roasting brings out natural sweetness and enhances flavor. Why would you steam when you could roast? Steaming is so bland. Anyway, roasted veggies are my favorite diet food, because it doesn’t taste like diet food. Here’s how I do it. I like to keep it simple, but you can go crazy with the variety of vegetables you use. In addition to what’s listed below, I also like to use cherry tomatoes and red, yellow, and orange bell peppers for added flavor. Green bell peppers, I am not so big on. I think they smell good, but I have a hard time choking them down. Below is just what I happened to have on hand.

Roasted Vegetables

1 yellow squash
1 zucchini
1 yellow onion
8 oz. fresh mushrooms
Extra-Virgin olive oil
Garlic powder
Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Chop everything but the mushrooms into bite-size pieces and throw into a bowl. Add 1 tsp extra-virgin olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste. Try not to think about Rachel Ray while you’re using the EVOO. (I’m convinced she’s an alien. And I hate the term EVOO.) Toss to coat. Spread out mixture onto a rimmed baking sheet. Top that layer with the mushrooms, almost as if you were adding pepperonis to a pizza. I like to keep the mushrooms on top so they get cooked through really well…because as much as I love cooked mushrooms, I hate raw ones. Sprinkle everything with some garlic powder, and drizzle a tiny bit of olive oil over the top, with your thumb corking the bottle opening to allow only a small amount to escape. Bake 20 minutes. Remove from oven and stir around to make sure nothing is sticking. Return to oven for another 10 minutes. Enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. Jessica said,

    June 2, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Yum! I adore eggplant, squashes, onions, peppers, roasted in a vinagrette mixture. Throw in some basil just before serving over couscous. MMmmmmm.


Leave a Reply

