Tasty Tuesday: Reese’s Pieces

hershey-reeses-pieces

There were a lot of interesting events in 1978. I was born, along with most of my closest friends. So that alone made it a good year. Johnny Rotten left the Sex Pistols. Harvey Milk was assassinated. The Pope died. The first solo trek to the North Pole occurred. Those poor people drank the Kool-Aid at Jonestown. Spain became a democracy. Ali won the title. And the world was introduced for the first time to The Blues Brothers, Diff’rent Strokes, Odie the dog, and Reese’s Pieces. All in one year!

et_l

I was four when the movie E.T.: Extra Terrestrial came out. It was the first movie I remember seeing in a theater. I did see The Empire Strikes Back first, and I can remember being fascinated by the scrolling words at the beginning. But I was only two then, and I don’t remember anything else about the movie. E.T.was really scary to me because of the part when they come to take him away from the house and there’s all that crazy tubing and then he’s in the testing facility on the verge of death. I cried. But I loved Drew Barrymore as a kid and saw all her movies. My parents met her at a party when she was in North Carolina filming Firestarter. My mom doesn’t remember if she was drinking at the party or not. Heh. I still like her quite a bit, and I from what I can tell we have a lot of similarities personality-wise. She’s a free spirit. Some people have said I sort of resemble her at times, from certain angles. I think she looks more like pictures of my grandmother as a young girl than me.

me drew

So E.T.’s favorite candy in the movie was Reese’s Pieces, and some time after the movie came out I got a promotional E.T. toy candy dispenser, which for some reason I’ve had on my mind lately. It was a globe and the mechanism was one of those old kind with the small metal tab you had to slide horizontally to push in your coin or whatever. It came with Reese’s Pieces. I can’t remember what made them dispense. I can remember sitting in the floor of my entirely yellow bedroom, methodically dispensing Reese’s Pieces and thinking about E.T. Wondering if he made it home. I lost interest in it when I ran out of Reese’s Pieces. Such is the attention span of a 4-year-old. But I was thinking I’d like to find one of those just to refresh my memory of it, or to see if my memory is accurate. I don’t necessarily want to own one, but I would like to see it again. I’ve looked all over the internet, but I haven’t been able to find any information on them whatsoever.

Anyone else remember those toys?

1 Comment

  1. codog said,

    June 17, 2010 at 7:14 am

    E.T. Invented Reese’s Pieces….

    http://wafflezombies.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/reesespieces/


Leave a Reply

