Movies: The New Star Trek

Loved it! I’m not a huge fan of Star Trek, although I do appreciate it on occasion. Star Trek is a big thing in my family. Sometimes it seems like I’m the only one who is not into it. Even after years of growing up with a sci-fi nut family, it still took an even more zealous boyfriend to convince me that Star Trek (and a variety of other sci-fi shows and movies) were worth watching. I was especially excited to see the new film adaptation because of J.J. Abrams’s involvement. He did Alias, which was one of my favorite shows of all time, and Felicity, which I was obsessed with in college.

I have to say, I thought this movie was very well written, excellently cast and well acted. Zachary Quinto, who plays the young Spock, plays my least favorite character on Heroes, and not just because he’s the bad guy. It’s because he is an unsympathetic bad guy. All the good villains have an element of vulnerability that makes them relatable in spite of their misguided evil tendencies. Sylar does not. If you want to disagree, I welcome your comments. But he was born to play a young Spock. I really thought everyone did a great job of showing what youthful energy might have been like for the characters we are so well acquainted with as older adults.

This is not a movie I’d necessarily recommend to someone who was not already somewhat familiar with the premise of Star Trek and a basic knowledge of the main characters and their distinguishing characteristics. But I would say I am on the bottom end of the spectrum in terms of my Trekkie knowledge, and I really enjoyed it and will probably watch it again.

Leave a Reply

