Movies: The Road


My favorite movie of all time is Schindler’s List. It’s saying a lot for me as a movie buff to declare one favorite at all. But as many movies as I watch, I think I keep waiting for one to affect me emotionally the way Schinder’s List did. Up until today, it never happened. But I think I may have finally found the next all-time favorite, the next Schindler’s List, in my mind.

The Road.

Spare. Human. Truth.

What kind of person are you?

That’s the essential question of this movie/book. Are you the kind of person who will do what is necessary to protect the ones you love when IT happens? Are you the type of person who would do almost anything to survive, but not anything? Are you the type of person who gives the man next to you a can of Fruit Cocktail when the end arrives? Or are you the type of person who will leave someone for dead to get what it rightfully yours? Will you stick it out until the bitter end, clawing your way to survival? Or will you decide that what’s waiting on the other side has got to be better and make the conscious decision to end your own suffering, even if that means suffering for others?

What’s beautiful about this movie is that no matter the question, one realizes that neither answer is really absolute in its morality.

One of the most common sayings in my family is, “You just do the best you can.” And this film brings new meaning to that phrase. And so it is my new favorite movie of ALL. TIME. Until further notice.

6 Comments

  1. Aporia said,

    January 17, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    Nice review, thank you.

  2. Aaron Lesher said,

    January 18, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Wow. Guess that’s next on the movie roster. Poor old Schindler’s List, though. I feel sad for it. End of an era, I guess 🙂

    • meggitymegs said,

      January 21, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      I forgot that I saw that in the theater for the first time with you! Didn’t I? You know Ralph Fiennes’ character’s name is Ammon, right? At least your brother is not a Nazi.

  3. Jessica said,

    January 22, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks for the review. I just finished the book. Amazing, and difficult. Definitely recommend.

    Just saw Doubt with the Grandmother…..was very good!

  4. heather said,

    February 28, 2010 at 5:58 am

    i have not seen the movie yet because i was so sure it could not possibly live up to the book, which was amazing. i did not expect to be so moved by it when i started reading it. but i can honestly say it was one of the most profoundly moving books i have ever read in my life. if the movie is on par with schindler’s list though, i am going to have to check it out. love your site!


Leave a Reply

