Crafty Love! Random Stuff I Like

I’ve always loved garden art. Not gaudy spectacles, but small, well-placed objets that make you smile when you happen across them while exploring. Like hunting for Easter eggs or buried treasure. Joy in the unexpected. When I am an old lady, I hope to have a beautiful garden full of odd things, where I can host scavenger hunts for neighborhood children and read stories to them about the great outdoors while having tea and crumpets on picnic blankets. Hopefully with a bunch of dogs hanging around. The first thing I’d hide would be this garden marker. Maybe underneath a giant pink rhododendron. $15 by The Magic Mud.

I inherited from my mother a serious penchant for lamps. And although I’ve never been a big fan of theme decor, I do love this lamp. It reminds me of my visit to Rocky Mountain National Park, where I saw herds of elk and beautiful mule deer. I’d love this lamp in a cozy library with a fireplace and an overstuffed leather chair. $295 by Glassman1.

One of the things that annoys me about myself is that I tend to be full of contradictions. Case in point: I hate knick-knacks, or as we call them in the South, “set around things.” This is probably a result of growing up in a house full of precious mementoes that I was required to dust every Saturday morning prior to doing anything fun. Also, I hate clutter. I live in a small apartment with little space for impractical things. But on the other hand, I have always loved little boxes. I don’t really have anything to keep in little boxes, and that is a point of internal conflict for me. They are not practical. But I love them. I love the mere idea of boxes to hide secret things from plain sight. And this little star shaped tie-dye box will be mine. What can I keep in it? $5 by Mmim.

5 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    February 2, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Sometimes I think we grew up in separate South planets, as I have never heard knick-knacks referred to as “set around things.” That, and that thing about a cat wearing britches that you have in your vocabulary. LOL.

    I don’t do boxes, but I have a thing for bags of all sizes that I get from my mom. Not purses, mind you, but bags…from reusuable grocery bags to little jewelry bags or wallet-type pouches.

    • meggitymegs said,

      February 3, 2010 at 8:37 am

      Yeah, my mom has a thing about bags, too. But more of the purse variety. Also, this would not be the first time that something I thought was a “Southern” thing turned out to be a “my crazy family makes shit up” thing.

    • meggitymegs said,

      March 8, 2010 at 5:10 am

      I also know people who refer to knick-knacks as “pretties.” As in, “Please don’t touch Grandma’s pretties or else I’ll give you a slicking.” 🙂

  2. Aaron Lesher said,

    February 2, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    I know what you can put in there…


Leave a Reply

