Crafty Update: Sofa Cushions

This is a horrible picture because I am not very good at using my new camera yet. The story is that my futon was getting pretty squished, and the bland tan cover needed some visual improvement. I bought some huge 27″ pillows from Roses for like $8 a piece and made covers for them out of some embroidered silk taffeta I scrounged from the back of my fabric closet. (Yes, I have a fabric closet. My mom has a fabric room. My grandmother has a fabric house. It runs in the family.) The back of each pillow is dark brown corduroy (purchased for mere cents at a by-the-pound thrift store). So I basically have a new couch for under $40. As you can see, Birdy already has her spot hollowed out. She is dismayed that the amount of sprawling-out space to which she is accustomed has diminished. But according to my lower back, this set up is way more comfortable than the mashed flat futon mattress.

Please try not to dwell on the dog hair underneath the futon. Birdy likes to lie under there to sleep because it’s dark and cool. And I’m a lazy vacummer.

In this picture, you can see the patterns and texture of the fabrics better. I made these as floor pillows for Coocatchoo’s yoga studio a while back and had leftover fabric. Her pillows had a natural colored linen backing. Making your own pillow cases for big ugly pillows is actually a really economical way to decorate. One plain pillow insert in this size can be purchased online for about the same price as I purchased and recovered all four. Now if I could just figure out how to reupholster my ugly chairs…

1 Comment

  1. Jessica said,

    March 22, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Pretty, pretty!


Leave a Reply

