MamaSox Perseveres!

Okay, I know you guys are going to hate me because this is like my third post about Crystal. I am getting total shit from people for even watching American Idol. But I have to tell you — Crystal is the reason I’m watching. I’ve never watched before, but when I heard her, I was like, “I have to see where she goes.” And man, she just keeps getting better and better.

There are a couple other contestants I like pretty well. I think Casey James is hot and has a good voice for the blues. I actually have grown to really like Lee Dewyze after thinking he was a total punk in the beginning. I think he is one of those shy, perhaps slightly insecure people who gets mistaken for a cocky asshole. They’re probably the two other people I might consider buying an album from if they go on to a musical career. And I think that’s a big element of the judging on the show.

As usual I’m a day behind on my episodes due to no cable, but dude! I was so right there with Crystal’s performance of “People Get Ready” that I was close to crying along with her when she broke at the end. Simon commented on how it was nice to see some emotion from her because she seemed to have shut down somewhat. I have watched her reactions on every elimination episode, when she tries to make her face look blank but is so unable to disguise her emotions that she looks like her best friend has been shot with every “You’re going home,” announcement.

That is something I totally relate to. I spend a lot of time trying to look unaffected and blank because I feel everything so intensely every second of every day, and I don’t want anyone to know that. Most of the time it is a complete exercise in futility. I wear my heart on my sleeve. Unfortunately. I am that unable to be fake in any way, shape, or form. And I think that’s a crucial trait of a good musician. If you don’t feel it, you can’t make your audience feel it. Crystal FEELS it, man!

Even though I saw no reason for Crystal to perform without an instrument, she almost did even better vocally without the guitar — maybe because she was more focused on the singing alone. I thought it was a perfect song choice, and she knocked it out of the park. As usual.

Newsflash to Kara — I’m pretty sure that her nickname MamaSox didn’t come from “schooling” people. Have you seen the dreads, honey? She is a HIPPIE MAMA! And, unless you are a hippie, you don’t really know what that means. So I forgive Kara for that. I think Crystal is the best female hippie vocalist since Janis Joplin. A bold statement, to be sure. But she actually has awesome song-writing talent. And as much as I hate Randy’s overuse of this phrase (along with the moniker “dawg” and the greeting “yo yo”), she does have “the pipes.” She’s real and genuine, and that counts for so much in a world where Hollywood defines fake plastic watering cans.

So, if you’re reading this, MamaSox, I heart you, and I think you’re awesome. And it would be really cool if you left a comment for your biggest fan. Heehee. Let’s hang out and be BFF! 🙂

Leave a Reply

