Crafty Love! Night Lights

As usual, I’ve been daydreaming about cool things for my house, and yesterday I was on a night light kick. I grew up in a house where there was always a night light in every bathroom, so you could find your way in the middle of the night without stubbing a toe. I have carried on this tradition in my own home. However, I turn it off when I go to bed because I can’t stand any light whatsoever when I’m sleeping. I mainly use it for energy conservation purposes. I basically never turn on the light in my bathroom except to put on makeup. So there’s your Earth Day tip! Get a night light and never turn on the overhead. Anyhoo. My night light is just a bare bulb, and that’s pretty boring. So, here are some cool things I found yesterday while searching for interesting night lights.

While not technically a night light, per say, these origami lights are awesome. I’m a huge twinkle light person, and no, I don’t think I need to grow up, thankyouverymuch. I will always have twinkle lights in my house, as long as I live. Because I like them. And these would be super cool for a nighttime back yard gathering, of which I plan to have many. $24 by Whimsidoodle

Now that someone has invented battery-powered candles, there are more options in night lights because they don’t necessarily require an outlet. I particularly like these little fairy houses, and I imagine they would look really cool with light glowing from the windows. The artist has a variety of designs, but the pumpkins and the tree stumps are my favorites. $18 by Suzanne’s Pottery Farm

As I have mentioned before, I love practical art, and this little light cover fits the bill. It’s glass. It’s brightly colored. AND it’s patchwork! What’s not to love? $22 by Paula Hall’s Stress Art

2 Comments

  1. Aaron Lesher said,

    April 23, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    You know who had great twinkle lights in her house way back in the day – Ursula (I won’t leave her last name for anonymity’s sake, but you know who I’m talking about). She always had beautiful white lights in a couple of big ficus trees in her living room. At the time, this was German avant garde at its best. Why are the Europeans so ingenious in their design?


Leave a Reply

