I…Don’t Get It: Green Tomatoes

I am a Southern girl, born and bred, so I’m almost ashamed to post this. But. How exactly does one know when a green tomato is ripe? I’ve actually never eaten fried green tomatoes, but I was hoping to try it, as I picked one off the vine in my neighbor’s garden while house-sitting last week. But…it looks the same, even though it’s been sitting in my window sill for a few days. And it still seems hard. What is the deal, yo? I am so bad at gardening.

1 Comment

  1. Jessica said,

    June 21, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    It’s ripe. They’re a bit hard when they’re green, but oh so tasty when sliced and fried. Mmmmm. Also can be used as part of a salsa – they’re a bit tart when green. 🙂


Leave a Reply

