Daily Gratitude: Birdy Lou Hooz*

No matter how bad my day has been, when I walk in the back door, I can’t not smile at my girl, who is prancing around and always excited to see me, who jumps (but gently) and licks my face and won’t go outside to pee right away, even after 8 hours in the house, because she would rather give me love first. So selfless. She listens to me talking on the phone and senses when my voice is sad. She puts her head on my lap and gives me kisses to say, “I know you are sad. But I love you!”

She has a more calming and soothing presence than most humans I’ve ever known. She is eternally patient with me. And that doesn’t diminish her love at all. When I need me-time, she hangs out with me quietly, just happy to be with me at all. When I am happy, she dances with me. When I cry, she daintily licks my tears away.

When she rides with me in the car, I like to look back at her head out the window, as she tries to gobble the air and inhale every scent that tickles her nostrils, eyes closed in delight at feeling the wind in her fur and on her face. And I think this is really what love should be like.

*Yet another name I call her because it reminds me of little Cindy Lou Hoo, from one of my all-time favorite movies, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas.

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    July 8, 2010 at 1:24 am

    Birdy girl! And in that picture, she’s even curled up like a heart. 🙂

  2. Xina said,

    July 8, 2010 at 4:00 am

    I know exactly what you mean Megs! I feel the same about my pup!


Leave a Reply

