Crafty Update: New Curtains!

I have been trying to make some curtains for my craft room for a while now and finally finished them today! I’m really happy to have them because A) I’m content with how they look, and B) I desperately needed some privacy because my next door neighbor’s house is like thisclose to mine, and I don’t enjoy feeling like people can see in at all. Even though I never can see in their windows and go out of my way to avoid looking over there in case their blinds are open and I might be able to see something. But you never know if other people are that considerate.

Anyways, the curtains, like most things I make, were a complete rig job. However, I was happy that when I told my sewing teacher that was my typical modus operandi, she said, “Hey, there’s nothing wrong with that! Whatever gets the job done!” The reason I am taking a sewing class in the first place is to learn how to do things “properly” instead of rigging everything. But my sewing machine is currently on the fritz, and I’m doing everything by hand. I have a replacement part, but I can’t figure out how to install it. Handy people, please help! Plus, I’m always using random materials I have collected in my projects, so there is usually a bit of fudging required.

For some reason, I collect scarves, but I don’t really wear them. Well, I wear warm scarves in the winter, but not flimsy frou-frou scarves. I just always find cool ones at thrift stores with awesome retro graphics or fabrics, and I think (like everything), “I will totally make something with that sometime.” For once, I actually fished one out of my scrap drawer and used it as a sash for my curtains. I also used some old thrift store vintage buttons on the sash corners, which hold the curtains back when I want to let more light in. Attached to the back of the buttons are gold earring hooks (I am resourceful like that) which hook into some picture hanging eyes I screwed into the window frame. The fabric is a fairly inexpensive natural-colored cotton I got at Hancock a long time ago that is called “linen look.” I’ve used it in many projects and just happened to have a little left.

When the curtains are closed, the earring hooks hang on a piece of the inside window frame so you can still see the buttons, but they still stay closed. I’m not real crazy about the pink buttons, but I didn’t have any other ones that were the same size, and I do think the color stands out more than my other choices, which were mainly light-colored shell and wood. They kinda go with the colorful 60s graphic of the scarf/sash.

So now I have cute curtains on at least one window in my house (I have about 3 more to go), and my neighbors can’t look in. Yay! If anyone wants instructions or help making some similar, I am more than willing to offer my rigging assistance. 🙂 Now if I could just figure out how to make bedroom window coverings that are cute AND function as black-out curtains. Right now, the black out part is working like a charm, but they’re super ugly. Any suggestions?

2 Comments

  1. Jeff said,

    July 11, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Awesome… I like the sash.

  2. Xina said,

    July 13, 2010 at 4:19 am

    They are so cute!


Leave a Reply

