Fun Song: Fuck You

Very few people know what a big Motown fan I am. It is some of my favorite music ever, because it’s so easy to sing along to, with such catchy melodies, and it’s all positive and energetic, with some damn good lyrics. I’ve never sung karaoke (sadly), but if I did, it would probably be a Motown song. like this or maybe this. OR this. Or even this. Okay and this. I LOVE IT!!! I mean, without Motown, there would be no modern pop music really.

A (younger) friend of mine (he’s 23 today) said to me the other day, when discussing this topic, “What’s Motown? Never heard of it.” WHAT! Okay, this could be excused partially by the fact that he is not American and has only been in this country for the last 15 years or so. But still! I was like, “Oh, lord. I’m making you a CD. You can’t claim to love music and not know what Motown is.” He frequently introduces me to new pop music, so I am taking on the responsibility of educating him about old classics.

This new song, which samples the Four Tops song, “It’s Just the Same Old Song,” is pretty awesome, and I think unlike most remakes, it actually improves upon the original. Actually, my newest issue of Rolling Stone has an interview with Bruno Mars, who co-wrote this song, and he says it is entirely original. So, really? EVEN BETTER. Bringing the Motown flavor back!

I have loved Cee-Lo for a long time, since his Goodie Mob days. Love his voice, and totally love this new direction he is opening up for pop right now. We need more of this, I say. And actually, Gwyneth Paltrow didn’t do too bad of a job with this on Glee this week. I think she should appear more often. I enjoyed it. She’s not the greatest singer in the world, but I think her acting made up for that.

Fuck You
By Cee-Lo Green

I see you driving ’round town
With the girl I love, and I’m like, Fuck you!
Oo, oo, ooo
I guess the change in my pocket
Wasn’t enough
I’m like, Fuck you! And fuck her too!
I said, if i was richer, I’d still be with her
Ha, now ain’t that some shit? (Ain’t that some shit?)
And although there’s pain in my chest
I still wish you the best with a…
Fuck you!
Oo, oo, ooo

Yeah I’m sorry I can’t afford a Ferrari,
But that don’t mean I can’t get you there.
I guess he’s an xbox and I’m more an Atari,
But the way you play your game ain’t fair.

I pity the fool that falls in love with you
(oh shit she’s a gold digger)
Well
(just thought you should know nigga)
Ooooooh
I’ve got some news for you
Yeah go run and tell your little boyfriend

(chorus)

Now I know, that I had to borrow,
Beg and steal and lie and cheat.
Trying to keep ya, trying to please ya.
‘Cause being in love with yo ass ain’t cheap.

I pity the fool that falls in love with you
(oh shit she’s a gold digger)
Well
(just thought you should know nigga)
Ooooooh
I’ve got some news for you
I really hate yo ass right now
(chorus)

Now baby, baby, baby, why do you wanna wanna hurt me so bad?
(So bad, so bad, so bad)
I tried to tell my mamma but she told me
“This is one for your dad,”
(Your dad, your dad, your dad)
Uh! Whhhy? Uh! Whhhy? Uh!
Whhhy lady? Oh! I love you!
I still love you! Oooh!

Leave a Reply

