Books: Dance of Death

I’m so sad to announce this is the only book I’ve read in the last few months. I got hooked on crossword puzzles, although they are slightly torturous to me. I drive myself crazy with my simultaneous hatred of them and compulsive need to do them. My dad is a crossword whiz, and my favorite memories of his father include sitting with him in his dark, cool den while he chain-smoked, worked the NY Times crossword, and fed the dog brie and snickers. I can remember sitting in my dad’s lap as a kid while he tried to teach me the concept of the clues. It frustrated me when I was five, and it frustrates me still.

Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child are probably my current favorite authors of popular fiction. My snobby creative writing professors in college always poo-pooed anything popular and not considered “Literature.” I still maintain a dislike of Stephen King, mainly for that reason, but also because we were forced to read him as an example of bad writing. I liked The Shining, but otherwise I am unimpressed. Anyhoozer, I just discovered a regional chain store here called Hastings, which is sort of like Borders, but they have a lot of used books and you can also rent movies there. So, I picked up this one as part of my continuing effort to complete their catalog. Evidently I’m reading them in all the wrong order, even though the list in order is printed in the front of every book. Some of them are trilogies, but they’re all written to function as stand-alone books as well for dummies like me who can’t get my shit together well enough to read them in order. The main character that most of their criminal mysteries center around is Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast, and the authors keep him shrouded in enough mystery as a character that I keep reading to find out more about him and his crazy family.

And, thanks to the modern miracle of social networking, I was able to recycle it immediately after reading to my friend John, who I grew up next door to as a kid.

2 Comments

  1. Jen said,

    May 28, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I love their books too, although I’ve only read maybe 3 or 4.

    • meggitymegs said,

      May 29, 2011 at 3:39 pm

      Me too! I have read only a handful, but I keep wanting more! They’ve also written some books independently of one another, and I have read a couple of Douglas Preston’s that I really liked.


Leave a Reply

